jump to navigation

Something new: The grapefruit is not a lemon March 26, 2010

Posted by silverlinedletters in funnies, something new every week.
trackback

See the resemblance?

This post was supposed to be about how I baked a fluffy warm lemon cake for the first time. It was supposed to be about how it turned out tangy and delicious, like a slice of heaven. NOT.

My first attempt at baking a lemon cake however, turned out to be quite a fiasco that my mother believes will go down in family history. Long story short, I mistook a grapefruit for a large citrus lemon and zealously grated said “lemon” to obtain “lemon rind”. The whole time I was wondering why it was pink inside and I’d brushed it off, believing it must be a genetically modified lemon or a lemon from an exotic, far flung place. So I happily sent the batter for baking and tried the cake fresh out of the oven. Something was a lil off, but I couldn’t quite put my finger on it. It was only when my discerning mom noted the bitter aftertaste and asked that I showed her the “lemon” I’d used that realisation dawned, big and bright.

And a novice is a novice.

Comments»

1. karwei - March 26, 2010

HAHAHHA omg. a grapefruit cake sounds awesome though.

(:

2. juliet - March 27, 2010

ditto. anything baked sounds amazing!

BUT HAHAHAHAH JIN you can bet your last dollar your mum (and us!) will never let you forget this! darling you are ADORABLE :]

3. silverlinedletters - March 27, 2010

hahaha the two of you are too sweet + kind!

i am still quite incredulous by how all of it happened. my funky mom deliberately bought a lemon from the wet market today just to ‘show me’ what it looks like!

4. nicole - March 27, 2010

awww!! hahaha. you’re really cute jh! hope the other desserts turned out fab! 😉

5. Girlfriend gems « Silver-lined letters - March 27, 2010

[…] up a lemon cake (this time with real lemon rind) for dessert, my mom readily regaled them with the tale of how I’d mistook a grapefruit for a lemon. We all had a good laugh and I suppose with really old friends who knew me since I was seven, they […]


Leave a Reply

