jump to navigation

On relationships that last June 11, 2010

Posted by silverlinedletters in inspiration.
trackback

This week has been more emotional than I would have liked. Airport departures don’t sit well with me. Thank goodness for super duper friends who offer me a place to crash, who invite me for meals so I can sponge off their food and make sure I am well-fed w yummy food and desserts. On nights when it’s been a little harder to get some shut-eye (I am fast becoming an insomniac!), I’ve been reading and one of the books I’d re-read is Have a little faith. I love this excerpt below on building relationships:

Can you predict which marriages will survive? I asked.

“Sometimes.” He said, If they’re communicating well, they have a good chance. If they have a similar belief system, similar values, they have a good chance.”

What about love?

“Love they should always have. But love changes.”

What do you mean?

“Love –infatuation kind- ‘he’s so handsome, she’s so beautiful’ –that can shrivel. As soon as something goes wrong, that kind of love can fly out the window.

“On the other hand, a true love can enrich itself. It gets tested and grows stronger…”

“That kind of love- the kind you realise you have by the life you’ve created together-that’s the kind that lasts.”

– From Have a little faith by Mitch Albom.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

