jump to navigation

Where there is love January 10, 2011

Posted by silverlinedletters in if music be the food of love, London.
trackback

Where there is love the heart is light,
Where there is love the day is bright,
Where there is love there is a song
To help when things are going wrong,
Where there is love there is a smile
To make all things seem more worthwhile,
Where there is love there’s a quiet peace,
A tranquil place where turmoils cease
Love changes darkness into light
And makes the heart take “wingless flight” –
Oh, blest are they who walk in love
They also walk with God above,
And when man walks with God again
There shall be Peace on Earth for men.

– Helen Steiner Rice

I really like this poem by Helen Rice, it’s one of those poems that brings my heart and everything else to a still. It fills me with a quiet sense of gratitude.

Today, my little happy moment was when I got 5 lobster puffs and 3 egg tarts for 5 dollars from the Marine Parade Hawker Centre. They were deliciously yummy! I decided to treat myself on the first day of school. While it’s bittersweet to be back home in Singapore, for everything there’s a season; I’ve had plenty of time to enjoy, explore and discover in the last 5 months. Now it’s time to return to school and to do the best I can for my final semester (and not sleep walk through it as I’m inclined to do).

Accompanying this poem is a cover of one of my favourite songs – “Your Song”. While I was on the long, cold journey back from a day of jam-packed shopping at the boxing day sales in London, the song came on and I remember being momentarily blown away (not by the wind, but by the song of course).

Where there is love, there is a song

To help when things go wrong…


Happy new year lovelies! Here’s to peace, love and may your heart take wingless flight in the year ahead. xoxo

Comments»

1. rosewithoutthorns - January 13, 2011

Love the song babe! Somehow it seems to resemble the one sung by Nicole Kidman on moulin rouge!
I miss u dear – your lobster puffs (?? what are these – some new SG dish? puffs of lobster meat?)

miss u miss u miss u!!


Leave a Reply

