jump to navigation

For they say, music is like poetry February 23, 2011

Posted by silverlinedletters in if music be the food of love.
trackback

I remember gushing about Adele’s ‘Make you feel my love’ to Juliet on an extended toilet break while studying in the library in Nov ’09. I barely knew the J then, but I’m glad she didn’t think I was a psycho gibbering away to her in the bathroom. I also remember listening to the song on loop in Dec ’09 and thinking about a certain someone. Then last year, in Dec ’10 I heard the song play in a Pizza Express outlet in Holborn, London. We’d just finished our final class of the semester at CTLS and were headed out for lunch. Christmas was just round the corner, the atmosphere was festive, the decorations were up and we were in the middle of happy chatter when I heard the opening piano chords. That was one single moment of peace and gratitude that I’ll be content to remember by. A year ago in ’09, I’d just submitted my application for exchange and was missing someone. A year later, I was still on my own but I found a happiness from my independence and a comfortable rhythm that I’d fallen into while living in a fast-paced, charming city away from home.

Funny how, one song can uncover, from the recesses of your brain, so many memories. What is one song you associate with a moment or remember by?

Comments»

1. etjuliette - February 26, 2011

i remember that moment so clearly. hahaha yes i did think you were a gibbering psycho! but that was how i fell in love with you, jin :]

have you heard i’d rather by luther vandross?

silverlinedletters - February 26, 2011

aww juliet 🙂 that picture of us (or psycho me) gushing about adele in the 3f lib toilet’s etched in my head!

yes! i think i have that on my playlist too. sweetest lyrics.


Leave a Reply

