jump to navigation

Birthday Presents at 26 January 1, 2012

Posted by silverlinedletters in personal.
trackback

I just turned 26 yesterday and I can no longer officially declare I’m in my early or mid 20s.

I went to bed feeling very grateful yesterday. I think the best gift I got this year is that of friendship. The three of us chowed down to simple fare as fit for all of us who were feeling under the weather. There we were sprawled out in Steph’s living room, legs splayed comfortably on the floor or propped against the cushions, and conversation flowed. I was with the same two people who had pulled off a series of surprise birthday stunts in the history of my well, not so short existence. They had showed up at my door at with a gift box that was massive enough to bury me, made an entire room of strangers sing to me, bought me my first box of macaroons – sidetrack: it was love at first bite with the rose macaroon.

This year, we chose to keep it simple and to pull a counter-surprise on Steph. The introvert in me never quite liked the big parties or a large crowd. I’d inadvertently shiver when a roomful of people sing happy birthday, the attention is slightly unnerving. Staying indoors to lounge in my slouchy tee last night was the instinctive option. I have also begun to appreciate the biblical saying that wisdom comes to a person in moments of quietude.

Steph laid down the gamut yesterday when she shared a realisation that while we may be quick to judge, sometimes we forget to look inwards into ourselves. It immediately resonated with me for I felt pangs of guilt for holding people I love to a high standard while I cut myself a great deal of slack. I am determined that Steph’s musings on looking inwards shall set the tone for my relationships.

Funny how as I grow older, the grandeur of birthday celebrations replete with balloons and presents seem to have lost its appeal. Growing up, I remember how my mother repeatedly spurned my requests for outrageous birthday gifts by informing me that that the best gifts in life are in the intangibles. My mother’s words never rang more true. I am reminded that the greatest fulfillment I receive are from my relationship with God and with people.

And yesterday evening was supremely rich, in thought, in tradition, in inspiration and in love.

11 December 2011, Sunday 11:55pm
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

